Author Topic: Bill Hayley, QE2 Hotel Catering Officer 1968-1972  (Read 3703 times)

Offline billhayley

Bill Hayley, QE2 Hotel Catering Officer 1968-1972
« on: Aug 21, 2011, 09:24 PM »
I joined Cunard in 1967 as one of the first 6 Hotel cadets. I visted the QE2 in 1968 when she was being built on Clydebank. At the time I was fourth hotel officer on the old Queen. I joined QE2 on the 24 March 1969 as a third Hotel Officer, I left the QE2 and Cunard on 23 July 1972. I was in at the beginning and during the shake down cruises and turbine problems. I left just after the mid Atlantic Bomb scare. I worked as a Catering Officer, Cashier and Crew Purser. Was anyone else around in those early days.
« Last Edit: Jan 10, 2014, 08:43 PM by Alan Snelson »

Offline Isabelle Prondzynski

Re: Hotel Cadets
« Reply #1 on: Aug 21, 2011, 09:53 PM »
Hello Bill, and welcome aboard the QE2Story Forum!

You bring your very exciting story to this group, with your early experience and knowledge of QE2 at a time in her life when many of us were not fortunate enough to have known her...

Have a look around, I am sure you will find crewmates of those days here. And do tell us some of your stories when you get the chance -- I for one am looking forward greatly to hearing about the fateful shakedown cruise and all those other early days!

Do tell us also what a hotel cadet was expected to do at the time  :)

Online Lynda Bradford

« Reply #2 on: Aug 21, 2011, 09:59 PM »
Hello Bill, welcome to the QE2 Story Forum.  I would love to hear more about your visit to the QE2 in Clydebank!  :)
I was proud to be involved with planning QE2's 50 year conference in September 2017 in Clydebank

Offline Louis De Sousa

• QE2 Crew member
  • Queens Grill Diner
  • QE2 The Greatest Ship Ever
« Reply #3 on: Aug 21, 2011, 10:58 PM »
A very warm welcome to you, looking forward to hear your stories about those early days

Offline Rod

« Reply #4 on: Aug 21, 2011, 11:25 PM »
Hi Bill. Love your fathers songs!